News Archive

  • Congrats to our former graduate student (Berger Lab) Philipp Mews for receiving the 2017 Tom Kadesch Prize.

    Read More about his work here:

    In 2011, the Department of Genetics established the Tom Kadesch Prize in Genetics to honor the legacy of our friend and colleague Dr. Tom Kadesch. Dr. Kadesch was a member of the Genetics department from 1984 until his death in 2011, and served as Interim Chairman for his final 4 years. He was not only an excellent scientist, but also a tremendously dedicated mentor, teacher and University citizen whose contributions inspired those around him. In his memory, with the help of many generous donors, we were able to set up an endowed fund that will support in perpetuity an annual award to “a graduate student demonstrating excellence in research achievement and citizenship”.

    We are pleased to announce that this year’s Tom Kadesch Prize in Genetic Research will be awarded to Dr. Philipp Mews. Philipp recently completed his PhD in the Cell and Molecular Biology (CAMB) graduate group, and performed his thesis work in the lab of Dr. Shelley Berger.  His research focused on how the epigenome and cellular metabolism are linked to adapt gene expression to the environment, and utilized a combination of yeast, neuronal cell culture and mouse models. In yeast, Philipp characterized changes in histone methylation and acetylation during starvation and re-feeding. In the mammalian system, Philipp showed that the acetyl coA producer ACSS2 directly binds to chromatin to promote hippocampal gene transcription, and is critical for long-term memory formation. These projects resulted in first-author publications in Molecular and Cellular Biology and Nature, with additional manuscripts still in the pipeline. In addition to his research accomplishments, Philip has been active in mentorship and outreach activities to increase diversity in science. These included volunteering with Penn’s LGBTQ mentorship program, the oSTEM society, the Philadelphia Science Festival, and NYC Brain Awareness Week. He also worked as a TA for the first year graduate course, BIOM600/Cell Biology and Biochemistry.

    The Kadesch prize will be presented to Dr. Mews at a special session of the Genetics Friday Research Talks on January 12, 2018(12:30pm in Austrian Auditorium CRB). In addition to receiving a $1000 cash prize, Dr. Mews will present a short seminar on his research. Please join us in congratulating him and make plans to attend the award ceremony and seminar on January 12th.

  • Congrats to our former postdoc (Berger Lab) Dan Bose for receiving the 2017 Kaushal Award!

    Dan Bose publication nominated


    The Department of Genetics is pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 Kaushal Family Awards in Genetics, which recognize excellence in genetic research by predoctoral and postdoctoral scholars, as evidenced by a notable publication in their field. We received 8 predoctoral scholar applications and 7 postdoctoral scholar applications for consideration. The award winners, Alan Tang and Daniel Bose, were chosen by the Department of Genetics faculty in a secret ballot, based on the publications’ contents and the applicants’ descriptions thereof.

    Please join us at a special award ceremony on Friday, November 3, 2017 (12:30-1:30 pm in CRB Austrian Auditorium), where both awardees will speak about their work.

  • Gene-Editing-Induced Changes in Ant Social Communication Cement the Insect’s Utility for Biomedical Research

    Read More….

  • Congratulations to Elizabeth Heller for receiving the NIDA Avenir Award (DP1DA044250), Chromatin-mediated alternative splicing in reward pathophysiology

  • Congrats to Enrique Lin Shiao for receiving the NRSA( F31) award and the Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award for 2017

  • Ben Garcia has been elected to represent the Human Proteome Organization governing council (Western Region rep.) from January 2017 to December 2019

  • Congratulations to Mitch Lazar for his election to the National Academy, USA

  • Postdoc Tre Artis won first prize at the PREP symposium

  • Postdoc Lacey Luense to be awarded a Lalor Foundation Merit Award at the 2017 SSR Meeting

  • Congrats to Roger Greenberg, PhD, MD, for being promoted to full professor

    Since joining the faculty at Penn in 2007, Roger’s scientific trajectory has been spectacular. He has established an extremely robust and productive research program focused on understanding how chromatin responses to DNA damage impact genome integrity, cancer susceptibility, and response to anti-cancer therapy. His laboratory’s work has led to the identification of several new breast cancer susceptibility genes, a human syndrome associated with biallelic BRCA1 mutations, and insights into mechanisms by which chromatin responses affect response to targeted therapies. His seminal discoveries on the molecular basis for BRCA1 recognition of DNA double strand breaks led to a flood of subsequent important additional discoveries, as well as the development of the first system to simultaneously visualize local DNA repair and transcriptional events in real time. Through these and other advances, Roger has established himself as an international leader in this area through a series of highly impactful publications in the most select peer-reviewed journals. In recognition of his scientific accomplishments, Roger has been awarded (among others) the 2010 Michael S. Brown New Investigator Award for Basic Research, the Sidney Kimmel Foundation Scholar Award, the Charles E. Culpeper Scholar Award in Medical Science, the Mary Kay Ash Foundation Award in Innovative/Translational Cancer Research, and the Harrington Scholar Innovator Award. Equally important, Roger has been an exemplary citizen within the Department of Cancer Biology, the AFCRI, and the Penn community.