Junwei Shi, Ph.D.

Junwei Shi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Cancer Biology, Assistant Investigator of Abramson Family Cancer Research Institute

Contact Information

421 Curie Blvd
610 BRB II/III
Philadelphia , 19104-6160
Office: 215-746-5733
Fax: 215-573-6725
jushi@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Research Interest

Hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) is the most common type of primary liver cancer, and causes up to 800,000 deaths annually worldwide. My lab focuses on understanding molecular pathways that support HCC growth. A major clinical challenge for HCC is that most patients are diagnosed at advanced stages, and no curative treatments are currently available. The multikinase inhibitor Sorafenib is the only approved therapy for late stage HCC, which confers only an approximately 3-month median survival benefit.
Current areas of interest within the lab include: (1) Defining the functional importance of epigenetic regulators in HCC, (2) Dissecting the signal transduction pathways that are required for HCC maintenance, and (3) Developing new functional genomic tools.

Lab Members

FIRST NAMELAST NAMETITLEEMAIL
JunweiShiPIjushi@upenn.edu
DiqiuRenPostdocdiqiu.ren@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
QingzhouChenPostdocqingzhou.chen@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
PingWangPostdocPing.Wang1@Pennmedicine.upenn.edu
BiancaPingulPh.D. Gradbypingul@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
ZhengdongCaoPh.D. Gradzhendon@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
NiklausEvittMD/Ph.D. Graduate Studentniklaus.evitt@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
ChadKomarMD/Ph.D. Graduate Studentchad.komar@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
ConnieJiangGraduate Studentconnie.jiang@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
YogeshGoyalPostdocyogesh.goyal0308@gmail.com
IanDardaniGraduate Studentidardani@seas.upenn.edu
JessLiGraduate Studentjessi.li.ljx@gmail.com
AmyAzariaUndergraduate Studentamazaria@seas.upenn.edu
PhilBurnhamPostdocphil.burnham.50@gmail.com
LailaNorfordUndergraduate Studentnorfordl@seas.upenn.edu
SamReffsinGraduate Studentreffsin@seas.upenn.edu
LeeRichmanPostdoc/ Medical Studentleepr@upenn.edu
RyanBoeGraduate Studentryanboelab@gmail.com