Kenneth S. Zaret, Ph.D.

Kenneth S. Zaret, Ph.D.

Joseph Leidy Professor; Director of the Institute for Regenerative Medicine

Contact Information

The Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
9-131 Smilow Center for Translational Research
3400 Civic Center Blvd
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6059
Office: 215-573-5813
Lab: 215-573-5844
zaret@upenn.edu

Research Interest

Ken’s laboratory discovered “pioneer factors” that bind to silent chromatin, endow the competence for cell differentiation, and promote cellular reprogramming. Recently, his lab found broad chromatin domains that can resist pioneer factor binding and serve as impediments to cellular reprogramming; these domains appear to help commit cells to particular fates. Finally, his lab has unveiled how inductive signaling in the embryo leads to chromatin modifications that affect cell fate choices, thereby identifying specific enzymatic targets for small molecules to modulate cell fate control.

Lab Members

FIRST NAMELAST NAMETITLEEMAIL
KennethZaretPIzaret@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
JonathanLernerPostdoctoral Fellowjler@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
RyanMcCaarthyPostdoctoral Fellowryanlm@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
KenjiItoPostdoctoral Fellowkenji.ito@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
JingchaoZhangPostdoctoral FellowJingchao.zhang@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
MeganFrederickGraduate Studentmeganfr@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
KelseyKaedingGraduate Studentkkaeding@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
EdgarMonteiroGraduate Studentedgarluz@sas.upenn.edu
AndrewKatznelsonGraduate Studentakatznel@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
SwetaNarayanGraduate Studentsweta.narayan@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
NishaKrishnanUndergrauate Studentknisha@sas.upenn.edu
GregDonahueSenior Data Analystgdonahue@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
AnnO'Brien JenkinsResearch Specialistaoj@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
NaomiTakenakaMA, Research Specialist, Lab Managerntaken@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
MelindaYinResearch Specialistmelinda.yin@pennmedicine.upenn.edu